Go to top

School of Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering (ENAC)

ANNUAL REPORT 2020

Foreword

265222

What a year! When I started as the Dean of ENAC in 2020, I never imagined that one of my main challenges would be to perform my duties largely remotely.
Both spring and fall classes were moved online, telecommunicating became the norm, and our Bachelor’s, Master’s and PhD students, professors, and post-doctoral fellows had to be resourceful in order to meet their class requirements and perform their research. The situation was difficult. I was moved to see how everyone gave their best to deal with it and overcome the burden. It required a lot of patience and flexibility, and I am proud of the resilience and innovativeness of all our people working and studying in their labs, offices and classrooms. I am now looking forward to once again interacting and exchanging personally with everyone to further build our community.

Looking back, I am very satisfied with all the work accomplished in 2020 by the Dean’s Office and the ENAC Board, particularly all the effort and dedication put into recruiting professors and building our strategy.

We defined five key areas to further grow in the years to come:

  1. disciplinary excellence, inter- and trans-disciplinarity,
  2. diversity and community feeling,
  3. data driven approaches and open science,
  4. strong partnerships and innovation,
  5. integrated communication.

Based on our vision – “ENAC is the leading faculty for sustainability in the built and natural environment” – we have been further fostering interdisciplinary and cross-institutional collaboration and making it more visible. For example, the CLIMACT Center, a joint initiative with UNIL and co-directed by Prof. Michael Lehning (ENAC) and Prof. Julia Steinberger (UNIL), was launched by EPFL’s upper management, while we put in place interdisciplinary research clusters that allow for bottom-up initiatives within ENAC. Our new cluster manager is spearheading and fostering interdisciplinary development and inviting partners from industry, the public sector and NGOs to collaborate with ENAC on our three challenges: climate change, digitalization and urbanization. The labs have been asked to contribute, and most of them were involved in a series of workshops designed to identify potential problem areas. We now have many exciting projects on the way, all of them aimed at pushing science forward.
Moving ahead in the fields of environmental and civil engineering as well as architecture also means encouraging diversity at all levels. The testimonials posted by Polyquity last September left me speechless. In response – and drawing on our students’ experience and commitment – we decided, together with the associate deans, to create a Diversity Office at ENAC, that was officially launched in early 2021 and that builds on the work of the ENAC Gender Equality Working Group (ENGW).

ENGW’s mandate had been to attract excellent female candidates for our faculty searches. The newly created Diversity office, headed by Rizlan Bernier-Latmani, aims to tackle diversity issues by involving the entire ENAC community, namely professors, Bachelor’s and Master’s students, PhD students, postdocs, senior scientists, and technical and administrative staff.

At ENAC, we want to support our faculty members in their efforts to adopt open science practices. For this purpose, we created ENAC-IT4research, a team that offers services in data engineering, data science and data visualization. ENAC-IT4research will also showcase open science research outputs at ENAC and foster links with other EPFL entities involved in data science and open science, such as the Swiss Data Science Center and the EPFL library.
And as nothing would be visible without communications, I am thrilled with the look of our new website, the newsletter to our partners, and the wealth of articles published on our news channels showing how diverse and high level the research conducted at ENAC is. I aim to further improve our communications and keep our partners and colleagues well-informed, in close collaboration with Mediacom. Our goal is to share our knowledge on sustainability challenges in the built and natural environment, remain open to future collaborations and reach out to the German-speaking part of Switzerland.
I am confident as we move forward in 2021. New collaborations and the high quality of disciplinary and interdisciplinary research and teaching at ENAC show how we actively contribute to the common goal of finding solutions for a sustainable future.

Claudia R. Binder

What is ENAC ?

The disciplines grouped in the school of Architecture, Civil and Environmental Engineering (ENAC) at EPFL are called upon to find solutions to the most important challenge of our time: to guarantee a sustainable living environment for humanity through a successful integration of human activities within the biosphere.

3

disciplines

2151

students

465

researchers

765

staff members

ENAC sustainability challenges

ENAC aims to play a leading role in the societal and ecological transition by developing science-based responses in the following three strategic focus areas:

Challenges-ENAC_3themes_EN-1536x919

Highlights 2020

Within the three teaching sections, 70 laboratories and various research units of ENAC, our students, doctoral students, post-doctoral fellows and professors are advancing knowledge in the fields of architecture, civil engineering and environmental engineering. Here are some highlights of 2020’s achievements.

Awards 2020

The excellent work carried out in 2020 by ENAC students and researchers has been rewarded with multiple prizes in Switzerland and abroad. We are proud to present them here.

Athanasios Nenes was made a Fellow of the American Geophysical Union.
Jan Skaloud received the Samuel Gamble Award.
Andrew Barry has been elected as a member of the Academia Europaea.
Jan Wienold wins the Leon Gaster Award 2020.
Camille Paragon and Pierre Wüthrich win the 2020 Arditi Prize in Architecture.
Nicolas Robin Montagne wins the Hangaï Prize.
Michel Bierlaire wins the "Impactful Research Award” from Zephyr Foundation.
Bastian Valentin Wilding, Michele Godio, and Katrin Beyer win the Outstanding Paper Award 2020 of Materials and Structures Journal.
Yujie Wu wins the Chinese Government Award for outstanding self-funded student abroad.

Nominations, promotions and departures

Devis Tuia is an environmental scientist with a particular focus on remote sensing and geoinformation. He is heavily involved with the development of new methods to allow better interpretation of images and recordings of the earth’s surface. He makes use of machine learning and efficient human-machine interaction, among other things. Prof. Tuia will join EPFL’s Alpine and Polar Research Centre at Sion, where he will carry out a research program based on remote sensing and image analysis, thus increasing the Federal Institute’s national and international visibility. Devis Tuia leads the Environmental Computational Science and Earth Observation Laboratory (ECEO).
Attachment image #2158
Devis Tuia was named as Associate Professor of Computational Environmental Science and Engineering
Bruno Marchand retired on August 31st, 2020 after more than 27 years at EPFL. Full Professor of Theory and History of Architecture, he was a true pillar of teaching and research within ENAC. He was also very active at the institutional level and notably directed the Institute of Architecture and the City. He has initiated and directed the doctoral program Architecture, City and History. We warmly thank Professor Marchand for his exceptional commitment to our School and wish him an active and happy retirement.
Attachment image #2213
Bruno Marchand was named as Honorary Professor
Ian Smith retired in November 2020. In 1991 Ian Smith joined EPFL as a research associate and in 2005 he was promoted to Full Professor of Structural Engineering. His research unites mechanics for civil engineering, applied computer science and measurement systems. He has paid particular attention to topics such as actively controlling the shape of structures to improve their serviceability and usability, and biomimetic structures (for learning, self-diagnosis and self-repair). Thanks to his international reputation, Ian Smith has had a marked impact on his field of research and teaching.
Attachment image #2212
Ian Smith was named as Honorary Professor
Andreas Schüler is a researcher at the Solar Energy and Building Physics Laboratory, where he leads the group "Nanotechnology for Solar Energy Conversion"
Attachment image #2214
Andreas Schüler was promoted to Senior Scientist

Stay tuned with ENAC!

Social-picto-ENAC_twitter
Social-picto-ENAC_Linkedin
Social-picto-ENAC_Facebook

Go to top

Faculté de l’environnement naturel, architectural et construit (ENAC)

RAPPORT ANNUEL 2020

Avant-propos

265222

Quelle année! Quand j’ai commencé mon mandat de doyenne de l’ENAC début 2020, je n’aurais jamais imaginé que l’un de mes principaux défis serait d’exercer mes fonctions en grande partie à distance. Les cours de printemps et d’automne ont été donnés en ligne, la télécommunication est devenue la norme et nos étudiant·es, doctorant·es, professeur·es et post-doctorant·es ont dû faire preuve d’ingéniosité pour répondre aux exigences de leurs cours et effectuer leurs recherches. La situation était difficile. J’ai été émue de voir à quel point tout le monde donnait le meilleur de lui-même pour surmonter cette difficulté. Cela a exigé beaucoup de patience et de flexibilité, et je suis fière de la résilience et de la capacité d’innovation de tous nos collaborateurs et collaboratrices qui travaillent et étudient dans leurs laboratoires, bureaux et salles de classe. Je me réjouis à présent de pouvoir à nouveau interagir et échanger personnellement avec tout le monde pour continuer à construire notre communauté.

Avec le recul, je suis très satisfaite de tout le travail accompli en 2020 par le décanat et la direction de l’ENAC, en particulier de tous les efforts et du dévouement déployés pour recruter des professeurs et professeures et élaborer notre stratégie.

Nous avons défini cinq domaines clés pour poursuivre notre développement dans les années à venir :

  1. L’excellence disciplinaire et l’inter- et transdisciplinarité
  2. La diversité et le sens de la communauté
  3. Les approches fondées sur les données et l’open science
  4. Les partenariats solides et l’innovation
  5. La communication intégrée

Sur la base de notre vision – «L’ENAC est la faculté leader pour relever les défis de la durabilité dans l’environnement naturel et construit» – nous avons continué à encourager la collaboration interdisciplinaire et interinstitutionnelle et à la rendre plus visible. Par exemple, le centre CLIMACT, une initiative conjointe avec l’Université de Lausanne (UNIL) et co-dirigée par les professeurs Michael Lehning (ENAC) et Julia Steinberger (UNIL), a été lancé par la direction de l’EPFL, tandis que nous avons mis en place des clusters de recherche interdisciplinaires qui permettent des initiatives ascendantes au sein de l’ENAC. Notre nouveau responsable des clusters dirige et encourage le développement interdisciplinaire et invite les partenaires de l’industrie, du secteur public et des ONG à collaborer avec l’ENAC sur nos trois défis: le changement climatique, la numérisation et l’urbanisation. Les laboratoires ont été mis à contribution et la plupart d’entre eux ont participé à une série d’ateliers destinés à identifier les domaines problématiques potentiels. Nous avons maintenant de nombreux projets passionnants en route, qui visent tous à faire avancer la science.

Aller de l’avant dans les domaines de l’environnement, du génie civil et de l’architecture, c’est aussi encourager la diversité à tous les niveaux. Les témoignages postés par Polyquity en septembre dernier m’ont laissée sans voix. En réponse – et en nous appuyant sur l’expérience et l’engagement de nos étudiants et étudiantes – nous avons décidé, avec les vice-doyens, de créer un Bureau de la diversité à l’ENAC, officiellement lancé au début de l’année 2021, qui s’appuie sur l’expérience du Groupe de travail sur l’égalité des genres (ENGW) de l’ENAC.

Le mandat de l’ENGW était d’attirer d’excellentes candidates pour nos recherches de professeures. Le bureau de la diversité nouvellement créé, dirigé par Rizlan Bernier-Latmani, professeure associée, vise à aborder les questions de diversité en impliquant l’ensemble de la communauté ENAC, à savoir les professeur·es, les étudiant·es en licence et en master, les doctorant·es, les postdoctorant·es, les scientifiques de haut niveau et le personnel technique et administratif.

A l’ENAC, nous voulons soutenir nos professeur·es dans leurs efforts pour adopter des pratiques d’open science. Dans ce but, nous avons créé ENAC-IT4research, une équipe qui offre des services en ingénierie, science et visualisation des données. ENAC-IT4research présentera également les résultats de la recherche en open science de l’ENAC et favorisera les liens avec d’autres entités de l’EPFL impliquées dans la science des données et l’open science, comme le Swiss Data Science Center et la bibliothèque de l’EPFL.

Et comme rien ne serait visible sans communication, je suis enchantée de l’apparence de notre nouveau site web, de la nouvelle newsletter adressée à nos partenaires et de la richesse des articles publiés sur nos canaux d’information, qui montrent à quel point les recherches menées à l’ENAC sont variées et de haut niveau. J’ai pour objectif d’améliorer encore notre communication et de tenir nos partenaires et collègues bien informés, en étroite collaboration avec Mediacom. Notre objectif est de partager nos connaissances sur les défis de la durabilité dans l’environnement naturel et construit, de rester ouverts à de futures collaborations et de toucher la partie germanophone de la Suisse.

J’envisage l’année 2021 avec confiance. Les nouvelles collaborations et la haute qualité de la recherche et de l’enseignement disciplinaire et interdisciplinaire à l’ENAC montrent comment nous contribuons activement à l’objectif commun de trouver des solutions pour un avenir durable.

Claudia R. Binder

Qu’est-ce que l’ENAC ?

Science et ingénierie de l’environnement, architecture et génie civil: trois disciplines réunies en une faculté pour préparer notre société à l’un des défis les plus importants de ce siècle. Au sein de l’EPFL, L’ENAC développe des solutions pour garantir un cadre de vie durable à l’humanité grâce à une intégration respectueuse de l’environnement des activités humaines au sein de la biosphère.

3

disciplines

2151

étudiants

465

Chercheurs

765

Collaborateurs

Les défis du développement durable de l’ENAC

L’ENAC agit pour favoriser une transition socio-écologique en tant qu’acteur scientifique majeur, en travaillant sur les axes stratégiques suivants:

Challenges-ENAC_3themes

Les temps forts de l’année 2020

Au sein des trois sections d’enseignement, des 70 laboratoires et des différentes unités de recherche de l’ENAC, nos étudiant.e.s, doctorant.e.s, post-doctorant.e.s et professeur.e.s font progresser les connaissances dans les domaines de l’architecture, du génie civil et de l’ingénierie environnementale. Voici quelques points forts des réalisations de 2020.

Prix et récompenses 2020

L’excellent travail réalisé en 2020 par les étudiant.e.s et les chercheur.e.s de l’ENAC a été récompensé par de multiples prix en Suisse et à l’étranger. Nous sommes fiers de les présenter ici.

Athanasios Nenes a été élu fellow de l’Union américaine de Géophysique.
Jan Skaloud est le lauréat 2020 du Prix Samuel Gamble décerné par l’International Society for Photogrammetry and Remote Sensing.
Andrew Barry a été élu membre de l’Academia Europaea.
Jan Wienold remporte le Leon Gaster Award 2020.
Camille Paragon et Pierre Wüthrich remportent le prix Arditi 2020 en architecture.
Nicolas Robin Montagne remporte le Hangaï Prize
Michel Bierlaire remporte le "Impactful Research Award” remis par la fondation Zephyr.
Bastian Valentin Wilding, Michele Godio, et Katrin Beyer remportent le Outstanding Paper Award 2020 of Materials and Structures Journal.
Yujie Wu remporte le Chinese Government Award for outstanding self-funded student abroad.

Nominations, promotions et départs à la retraite

Spécialiste des sciences de l’environnement, Devis Tuia concentre ses activités sur la géo-information et la télédétection. Il travaille en particulier à l’élaboration de nouvelles méthodes permettant d’améliorer l’interprétation d’images et d’observations de la surface terrestre en s’appuyant sur l’apprentissage automatique et l’interaction homme-machine. Devis Tuia dirige à Sion le Laboratoire de science computationnelle pour l’environnement et l’observation de la Terre (ECEO), un pôle de recherche solide au sein de l’EPFL en matière de télédétection.
Attachment image #2158
Devis Tuia a été nommé Professeur associé de science et ingénierie computationnelle de l’environnement.
Bruno Marchand est parti à la retraite le 31 août 2020 après plus de 27 ans à l’EPFL. Professeur ordinaire d’histoire et de théorie de l’architecture, il a été un véritable pilier de l’enseignement et de la recherche au sein de l’ENAC. Très actif au plan institutionnel, il a dirigé l’Institut d’architecture et de la ville. Il a créé et dirigé le programme doctoral Architecture, Ville et Histoire.
Attachment image #2213
Bruno Marchand a été nommé Professeur honoraire
Ian Smith a pris sa retraite à la fin du mois de novembre 2020. Il a rejoint l'EPFL en 1991 en tant qu'associé de recherche et a été promu professeur ordinaire d'ingénierie structurelle en 2005. Ses recherches réunissent la mécanique pour le génie civil, l'informatique appliquée et les systèmes de mesure. Il a accordé une attention particulière à des sujets tels que le contrôle actif de la forme des structures afin d'améliorer leur fonctionnalité et leur utilisation, et les structures biomimétiques (pour l'apprentissage, l'autodiagnostic et l'autoréparation). Grâce à sa réputation internationale, Ian Smith a eu un impact marqué sur son domaine de recherche et d'enseignement.
Attachment image #2212
Ian Smith a été nommé Professeur honoraire
Andreas Schüler est chercheur au Laboratoire d'énergie solaire et physique du bâtiment, où il dirige le groupe “Nanotechnology for Solar Energy Conversion”.
Attachment image #2214
Andreas Schüler a été promu Maître d’enseignement et de recherche

Restez en contact avec l’ENAC !

Social-picto-ENAC_twitter
Social-picto-ENAC_Linkedin
Social-picto-ENAC_Facebook
Social-picto-ENAC_newsletter